Women’s shortlists for 2011 FIFA Ballon d’Or Gala revealed
© Getty Images
Who will claim the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year and the FIFA World Coach of the Year for the Women’s Football awards for 2011? FIFA and France Football have today announced the names of the players and coaches on the short lists for these awards (see below), and the final decisions will be made by the captains and head coaches of the women’s national teams as well as by international media representatives selected by France Football.

The short lists for the men’s FIFA Ballon d’Or award and the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football award will be revealed on 1 November 2011.

The winners of all of the awards will be revealed at the second FIFA Ballon d’Or gala as part of a televised ceremony at the Zurich Kongresshaus on 9 January 2012, during which the FIFA/FIFPro World XI and the FIFA Puskás Award for the most beautiful goal of the year will also be announced. The FIFA Presidential Award and the FIFA Fair Play Award will also be presented during the gala.

The list of ten female candidates has been drawn up by experts from the Committee for Women’s Football and the FIFA Women’s World Cup™ as well as by experts from France Football. The list of ten coaches has been drawn up by football experts from the Football Committee, the Technical and Development Committee and the Committee for Women’s Football and the FIFA Women’s World Cup™, as well as by a group of experts from France Football.

On 5 December 2011, FIFA and France Football will announce at a media event in Paris the names of the three men and three women, as well as the three coaches for women’s football and three coaches of men’s football, who have received the most votes. Also announced will be the three nominees for the FIFA Puskás Award.

Women’s shortlist for the FIFA Ballon d’Or Gala 2011 

The following ten women (in alphabetical order) are in contention for the title of FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year 2011:

Sonia Bompastor (France), Kerstin Garefrekes (Germany), Marta (Brazil), Aya Miyama (Japan), Alex Morgan (USA), Louisa Necib (France), Homare Sawa (Japan), Lotta Schelin (Sweden), Hope Solo (USA),Abby Wambach (USA).

The following ten coaches (in alphabetical order, first nationality and then team) are in contention for the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women’s Football 2011:

Bruno Bini (France/France national team), Leonardo Cuellar (Mexico/Mexico national team), Thomas Dennerby (Sweden/Sweden national team), Patrice Lair (France/Olympique Lyonnais), Maren Meinert (Germany/Germany U-20 national team), Hope Powell (England/England national team), Norio Sasaki (Japan/Japan national team), Tom Sermanni (Australia/Australia national team), Pia Sundhage (Sweden/USA national team), Jorge Vilda (Spain/Spain U-17 national team).