Tuesday, 1 November 2011

Champions League - Rooney shortlisted for Ballon d'Or


Wayne Rooney has been shortlisted for this year's FIFA Ballon d'Or award and is the only English representative.
2011 England Wayne Rooney - 0
The candidates for the accolade were announced by FIFA on Tuesday with theManchester United forward the only English representative.
Rooney has bounced back from an awful 2010, helping to guide United to their record 19th league title, reach their third Champions League final in four seasons and contribute to a rapid start to this campaign before the shuddering derby defeat to Manchester City.
Yet the only other United player listed for the award is Nani, who won his club's players' player of the year prize but was surprisingly left out of the starting line-up for the Champions League final defeat to Barcelona at Wembley by Sir Alex Ferguson.
Ferguson has been nominated in the coach of the year category, along with Chelsea boss Andre Villas-Boas and Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger.
Only five players on the shortlist have Premier League connections, two of which - Cesc Fabregas and Sergio Aguero - spent only half of 2011 in England - compared to 15 in Spain.
Liverpool's Luis Suarez has been included and while Manchester City fans will be delighted at the recognition afforded to Aguero, they may be surprised at David Silva's omission. European champions Barcelona lead the way with eight nominees, including Lionel Messi, winner for the last two years, with close rivals Real Madrid boasting five.
The final decisions will be made by the captains and head coaches of international teams, in addition to international media representatives selected by France Football.
FIFA and France Football will whittle the respective shortlists down to three nominees on December 5 at an event in Paris.
The second FIFA Balon d'Or ceremony will take place in Zurich on January 9, 2012.
Shortlist for 2011 FIFA Ballon d'Or
Eric Abidal (France), Sergio Aguero (Argentina), Karim Benzema (France), Iker Casillas (Spain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Dani Alves (Brazil), Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon), Cesc Fabregas (Spain), Diego Forlan (Uruguay),Andres Iniesta (Spain), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Mueller (Germany),Nani (Portugal), Neymar (Brazil), Mesut Ozil (Germany), Gerard Pique (Spain), Wayne Rooney (England), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands), Luis Suarez (Uruguay), David Villa (Spain), Xabi Alonso (Spain), Xavi (Spain). 

No comments:

Post a comment